AFTER Massively Winning Local Bodies Poll, UP CM Jogi Adityanath Says BJP Will Win 80 Lok Sabha Seats In 2019

December 3rd, 2017 | by eBangla Bureau
AFTER Massively Winning Local Bodies Poll, UP CM Jogi Adityanath Says BJP Will Win 80 Lok Sabha Seats In 2019


AMIDST strident criticism of GST by the opposition, the ruling BJP has won 14 out of 16 Mayoral seats of Uttar Pradesh Nagar Nigam. BJP has also wrested local bodies of Amethi, Parliamentary Constituency of Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, from Congress.  Bahujan Samajwadi Party has won the remaining two –Meerut and Aligarh.Incidentlly, the BJP won impressively the assembly poll humbling all other political parties in the State. Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has attributed the results to the vision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He also said results are an eye opener for all those linking it to Gujarat elections. BJP’s mayor candidates have won in Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Agra, Firozabad, Ayodhya, Mathura, Lucknow, Kanpur, Saharanpur Jhansi and Bareilly, and Moradabad and the BSP has won in Aligarh and Meerut. The Uttar Pradesh civic polls were held in three phases. The civic polls are being seen as the first big test for Yogi Adityanath government’s performance in the past seven months. UP Chief Minister Adityanath criss-crossed the state campaigning highlighting   development agenda. Samajwadi Party, BSP and Congress campaigns for the UP civic election were comparatively low-key. Both SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and BSP’s Mayawati did not campaign for the civic polls .PM Narendra Modi and BJJP’s National President Amit Shah had not campaigned .It was conducted  under the leadership of  CM  Jogi Adityanath who is committed to restoring  law and order and implementing  development programs. The elections were conducted in three phases on November 22, 26 and 29 and the voter turnout was around 52.4 per cent. Over 3.36 crore voters exercised their rights at 36,269 polling booths in the state to decide the fate of 79,113 candidates. Many had called the UP Civic Poll a referendum on the eight-month rule of Yogi Adityanath. Lucknow, State’s capital, and Varanasi, PM Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha Constituency, will have woman Mayors. Sanyukta Bhatia has been elected Lucknow’s first woman Mayor and Mridula Jaiswal is new Mayor .Kanpur and Ghaziabad have also elected Woman Mayors.  In 2012, the BJP had won 10 out of 12 mayoral seats in 2012.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *