SHIV Sena Will Retain Control of BMC after BJP Decided Not To Contest Mayoral and Dy Mayoral Positions

March 5th, 2017 | by Pranab Kumar Chakravarty
SHIV Sena Will Retain Control of BMC after BJP Decided Not To Contest Mayoral and Dy Mayoral Positions
India Global Watch

AFTER speculations for several days , BJP confirmed on Saturday that it will not contest  the March 8 elections for the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of  Brihanmumbai  Municipal Corporation (BMC)  stated to be the country’s richest civic body with an annual budget of about 37,000 crore INR. The announcement was made by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. Shiv Sena has declared its candidates for the posts. Fadnavis reportedly has taken the decision to stay away from mayoral elections as advised by his High Command.

“BJP corporators will act as watchdogs to ensure transparency in BMC,” said Fadnavis.  BJP will step down from the contention for mayoral roles, as a mark of respect to the decision taken by the people.

The BMC elections for which both the saffron parties contested separately for 227 seats no single party has won an absolute majority. The Maharashtra based Shiv Sena has won 8 seats and the BJP has won 82. After Geeta Gawli, who has won as the candidate of the local outfit Akhil Bharatiya Sena, pledging support to the BJP, the party’s effective strength has gone up to 83.The party with the highest number of corporators can get its candidates elected for the two posts so long as other parties do not come together and put up joint candidates. Vishvanath Mahadeshwar will be Shiv Sena’s candidate for the Mayor’s post and Hareshwar Worlikar is the candidate for Deputy Mayor’s position, senior Sena leader Anil Parab said.

The party-wise strength in the 227-member council is Shiv Sena  84 plus 4 (independents), BJP 82 plus 1, Congress 31, NCP 9, MNS 7, Samajwadi Party 6, AIMIM 2, ABS 1, Independent 1.

The two saffron parties have been together for nearly three decades but after the recent split, the Sena has even threatened that it may pull out of the BJP-led government in the state any time. Meanwhile, Bala Nandgaonkar, former MLA of Raj Thackeray-led MNS, said that his party would be happy if a Sena Mayor gets elected.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *